WFR

When I went to school, after college, I thought I wanted to become a Math and Physics teacher. I was wrong. I never finished my University degree and started my cycling career at age 21.
But after a long career in cycling, I decided that it was time to try something new. I needed something to get my brain working again, and wanted to learn how to take care of my friends… and MYSELF!

Last week, I finished my WFR (Wilderness First Responder) course, a certification designed to give you the tools to make critical medical and evacuation decisions in remote locations, when the 911 number can’t be reached. Over 100 hours of learning the basics about WHAT TO DO if someone gets hurt; how to prepare yourself for a trip; how to prepare yourself, or the people in your group, against the risks and dangers you can encounter during a excursion; how to assist someone giving birth to their child, etc.
During class, all these questions were answered by one of the best teacher I’ve had the chance to meet in my life. We saw photos of bear attacks, of broken bones, of wide-open wounds. He told us what he did in a series of accident that he had to cover, and shared how he felt during these critical moments. He taught us how to prepare ourselves, even if, in reality, we can’t never really be prepared for such life-threatening events…
We simulated real accident scenes and had to rescue one or sometimes several individuals, right on the spot. Talk about pressure! We could really feel the stress of trying to do our best, and wanting to show that if such a situation were to happen for real, we had the tools to react the right way.

Those scenarios were not real, of course. But now, I believe that if I were to face such critical situations, I wouldn’t just stand there. Instead of feeling helpless, I’d be able to help, I’d have the confidence to jump in and assist someone in difficulty. And I would probably remember all of what I just learned in that course in a fraction of a second, because that’s how our brain works.

Leave a Reply

