Gore-Tex Grand Traverse

I’m in the plane on my way to Aspen with Tim and Jeff. I’m nervous, first of all, because it’s something I’ve never done before, and second, because I dislocated my shoulder again on Sunday in the Mad River Glen SkiMo race.

Elk Mountain Grand Traverse…What the hell? Well, you start in Crested Butte, CO and traverse all the way to the Aspen ski area. 40 miles of peaks and wilderness at night on mountaineering gear. Yes, we start at midnight and hope to finish by noontime the next day.

I will be doing the traverse with my great friend Melanie. Over the last 3 years we’ve done a bunch of cool things together, that if we weren’t friends, it wouldn’t have happened! The Presidential Traverse in New Hampshire, Rim to Rim to Rim deep in the Grand Canyon, all in one day, a bunch of 50mi+ trail runs and races – some ups and downs – but most of all still friendsJ. It might take us a long time, but whatever happens, life will go on.

This past week I got an email from Abi’s dad. Abi is a beautiful little girl that has the strength of 10, but she is fighting everyday against a disease that is living in her lungs. In the fall I help organize an event called Les 100 a B7 which means 100km of Lyne Bessette (Bessette in French is pronounced ‘B-set’ so B7 is me! Sept = seven in Francais, Got it?:) Anyway, it’s going to be my 3rd year on October 4th and Abi is again our little butterfly.

The event logo includes a butterfly that represents a child that needs our help. Reading emails from Abi’s dad made me realize that no matter what challenges might lay ahead of us, Mel and I will traverse these mountains.

Mountains are made to be climbed and diseases to be treated. Like Abi, Mel and I will fight to finish this athletic challenge and will send our thoughts to our little butterfly at home, Abigail.

Love,

Lyne

Leave a Reply

